reading in 2009

I did a rough count of books read in 2009 – there were 24 – and it looks like I was largely not very fond of what I read. I won’t waste time on the ones I disliked and I did not read much or very widely, but here is the list of the books that I thought were good:

The Road by Cormac McCarthy – This was a story where I liked the book much better after finishing it than I did while reading it because it kept me in such suspense of the terrible things that would happen to the man and the boy and I didn’t want their deaths – deaths in an already dead planet and vanished civilization – to be without dignity. It is a haunting book. The last struggling traces of humanity in an amoral, desolate, and hopeless world.

Child of Mine by Ellyn Satter – Written by a pediatric nutritionist, this book is less of a how-to on feeding babies but more of a treatise on how to approach feeding your child. I didn’t find it very helpful in terms of what meals to prepare for my young baby but did find it invaluable for helping me to clear up my own hang-ups about the baby’s food and weight and what her intake should be.

Bright from the Start by Jill Stamm – A fun book written by an expert on early learning that talks about how babies process the world around them. It also has helpful charts on what toys and games may be age appropriate for babies at different months. (Alas, do not read on a kindle or kindle2 as the charts are not legible….)

In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente – Beautifully written  book structured like a Russian doll, fairy tale nested within fairy tale. Reminiscent of The Arabian Nights as a young girl tells tale after tale long into the night. I’m looking forward to reading the sequel later this year.

Other books that I enjoyed: The Last Watch by Sergei Lukyanenko, The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

My reading goal for this year is to be more involved in either of the two good book clubs that I found last year. It was a long search but I’m lucky to have found two groups that seem like they might be a good fit for me.

Baby’s new trick: Whenever she encounters buttons and switches that she can’t push or slide herself, she tugs at my hand and waits for me to do it for her. She used to do this for the bouncer switch only, but today she tried to get me to deactivate the child lock on the iPhone.

Leave a Reply

